Talkin’ ’bout Tuesday!

Tuesday: a random day to share random thoughts. Things that have been heavy on my mind and heavy on my heart. This post will be filled with random photos. They are some of my favorites, but don’t have much to do with the post. 
Lately, I have been thinking about kindness. How kind am I to others? When someone passes me in an aisle at the grocery store what expression do I give them? How are my words affecting others around me? How do they affect my immediate household?I consider myself to be a nice person in general. But are my words bringing joy to others? I don’t want to live day to day, I don’t want to be an average person. I want to be someone who, when brought up in conversation,  someone says “yes, I know her, she’s a very kind person.” I want to do better, be better, love better, and live better. Isn’t that an awesome goal? If I can compliment at least 10 people a day or if I can, in some way, bring joy to at least 10 people a day, I think that it would also make my life happier. I always feel amazing when I’ve been able to make someone else feel good. So why not try to do it more often?I am also wanting to work harder on my patience and biting my tongue. I pray every day for God to grant me more patience, He knows I need it with my crazy kids. They definitely keep me on my toes and I would like to give them patience and teach them grace, even when they make their mistakes, God has shown me amazing grace and I would like to show them the same, as best I can. Now, biting my tongue, that can be hard, especially if it’s something that I am very passionate about. I believe that I have already improved on this, but there is ALWAYS room to improve even more.  Words can hurt, opinions can hurt, and even things that we don’t think will hurt anyone can hurt. I don’t believe that God put us on this earth to degrade, judge, or cast stones at other human beings. I believe we are called to love our enemies. But loving our enemies is HARD! How can you show love to someone that has hurt you and has never shown you love? Prayer! Praying is my go to. I don’t agree with a lot of people, but I can still show them God’s love. It’s something I’m working on and it is definitely not easy. Learning how to spread kindness isn’t only important to me, it’s so important that I teach it to my kids. How we treat others will directly affect how our children treat others. Lead by example. It’s a struggle, but when I see my girls being kind to one another it completely melts my heart. It’s at times like that that I know I am not completely failing at being a parent. Well guys, I’m sorry if none of that made any sense. Like I said, it’s just some random things that I’ve been thinking about. I have been reading my One Year Bible and it has completely drawn me closer to God. It has definitely changed me from who I was just a few months ago. I have felt a peace like nothing before. And with that peace, I have wanted to spread kindness and show Gods grace to all. I’m just so thankful that God is still working on me! He’s not done molding me into the person I’m meant to be. Isn’t that cool!? 

“He’s still working on me, to make me who I’m meant to be. It took Him just a week to make the moon and the stars, the sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars. How lovely and patient He must be, because He’s still working on me.”

Always,

Shelby: the Mostly Manic Mama

Leave a Reply

